Internet connections

flyingtart

Warning: may contain humour.
Registered
Reaction score
I'd be grateful if anyone can answer this one as I'm not very technically minded.

If a person (say a journalist) is working on a story in a remote house where there is no broadband internet connection is there some way they can connect with the net other than dial-up? And is it possible to have a dial-up account that's portable, ie you can use it from any phone connection not just your own?

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
If they have an I-Phone or a Blackberry then they can do it anywhere there is a mobile signal.

petec

Lurking
Registered
Reaction score
If they have an I-Phone or a Blackberry then they can do it anywhere there is a mobile signal.

For many years I lived on a boat where my only connection with the world was via a laptop with a PCMCIA card modem connected to a mobile phone. Very slow ( 10 kb/s ). This was before I-Phone and Blackberry. The mobile phone was the size of 2 housebricks

edit My server was AOL and could be used worldwide so long I had a phone signal

Last edited:

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
Dial up would work from any phone. Basically you would dial your ISP and make a connection. You'd have to pay long distance charges on the phone line, but that was the only problem once you knew how to set it up. Biggest problem I would have is in office with multi-lines. Sometimes unplugging a phone and connecting it to your computer just didn't work.

Best of luck,

Jim Clark-Dawe

cbenoi1

Banned
Reaction score