Morphine used to surpress pain

feather

Registered
Reaction score
Is it possible to walk/limp/move at all if you have a gunshot wound to your leg and has subdued the pain with intramuscular morphine from an auto-injector?

My character only need to from a taxi to the queue inside a building on his own, but is it feasible that he will be able to do that? How would his leg feel? Completely numb or still painful? Would he appear to be influenced by the drug if it has been less than fifteen minutes since he used the morphine on himself?

cindystubbs

Registered
Reaction score
posssible?

Yes.
and yes.
Morphine does not remove all the pain if you are badly hurt and if you have knowledge it is possible to dull pain without knocking yourself out.
A dosage for that would be I believe 50 milligrams, but I'm a dropout nurse and not actually an "expert".
There are stories of mothers lifting cars off their children, of stupendous strength due to adrenaline. There are stories of men on the battlefield who kept going with terrible wounds who carried comrades off the battlefield also. Good Luck.

Palmfrond

cereal killer
Registered
Reaction score
Morphine doesn't numb pain like Novocain, it reduces the brain's awareness of the pain. It also makes you very sleepy, happy, and sort of drunk. The leg still hurts, but not as much as it did before the shot, and it doesn't bother you so much. Morphine injected into a vein works in a few seconds, morphine injected into a muscle works in a few minutes.

brainstorm77

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Cindy, I'm a nurse and you are correct. The edge would be taken off the pain... but they would still feel uncomfortable moving that much. I work in ortho and see it used daily after surgery.

sheadakota

part of the human equation
Registered
Reaction score
Could a person still function on Morphine? Absolutely (though I think 50mg is a little high on the dosage-depends on weight of person)