How much to charge for articles?

Tigercub

Registered
Reaction score
I want to bid on a job writing health/medicine articles. They're short, 450-750 words, but they'll need research. The client wants to know what I'm asking per article and how many I can do a week.

I'm thinking of saying $40-$80, depending on length, and 10 articles a week. Does that sound reasonable? Am I pricing myself out of the market or selling myself laughably cheap? I need to give them a response very soon.

I've been a writer and editor for many years, but this is my first real foray into freelancing. I've sold articles before, but it was on a casual, occasional basis. So I'm still kind of new at this.

Empress_Isis

Jenna Cosgrove
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.popeighties.com
It depends on what the articles are for. If they are for publication in a magazine, for example, they are worth more than if they are for web content or article marketing. did the client let you know the details?

Empress_Isis

Jenna Cosgrove
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.popeighties.com
I've been doing web articles, e-books and copy professionally for a couple of years. I don't know if it's the same deal as what you are quoting on, but what I write is normally keyword-integrated articles for search engine optimisation. They require a limited amount of research, unless you already know a fair bit about the subject, and I could write one in about 20-25 mins for a 600-800 word article.

Have they asked you to do keyword integration? Because this is very different from full articles.

Tigercub

Registered
Reaction score
I think what you're considering asking is a bargain.

Don't be surprised if they disagree though.

So I should up my price -- $50-$100, say?

And, Empress, explain how keyword integration is different from full articles?

Edited to add: I don't know much about this other than what I've said here. It's an ad on Craigslist on a subject I'm fairly knowledgable about.

Last edited: