NOT and administrator?

Nivarion

Brony level >9000
Registered
Reaction score
you will have to forgive some of my writing mistakes for the next couple of days, i will be slightly stonned from my new meds.

i turned the UAC in my laptop (which is running Vista) off. (hey, has any one ever noticed that that has the same initials as the evil science corp. in doom 3?) now, sometimes when i try to download/instal/run programs and such in my computer, it says that i cant, since i am not an administrator.

but i am. how do i tell microsofts new brain child that, unlike the others, was dropped on its head more than once, that i am an admin. (i mean that they all were dropped on the head, and that vista was dropped more... actually i think IE was dropped the most)

and while i am at it, i just set up a wireless network at my home. It normally works fine, but whenever i close my laptop while it is connected, it goes down and throws everyone off. is this vista realated, coincidence, or the router.

the router is a belkin N.

RJK

Sheriff Bullwinkle the Poet says:
Registered
Reaction score
I don't run Vista and I'm not sure what UAC is, but apparently it has something to do with administrative priveledges. It is a safety feature to keep the worms, malware, spyware, and viruses from downloading. This is a good thing.
In XP you need to change your account to 'Adminstrator' then download. I won't bother to explain how, because you're not running XP.
Probably just turn the UAC back on and reboot. but for normal operations, I'd stay away from the administrative priviledges.

kuwisdelu

Revolutionize the World
Registered
Reaction score
Try creating a new administrator account and see if that account has the same problems, or if it's just your current one.

Nivarion

Brony level >9000
Registered
Reaction score
As for the second problem...is your router connected through your laptop? If so that's why....try just having it set up directly to your modem.