Occupational Head Crisis

Allie

Registered
Reaction score
:e2hammer:

So I'm having (it is a long term problem) an identity crisis. Since we are so defined by our jobs (especially in the Midwest of the United States) I don't really understand what it is I do for a living.

I have an engineering degree, and worked as such for awhile. Then I had kids and quit because I figured that I'd never see them. I started writing and have completed two novels. I also work part time as a math tutor.

So when people ask me, "What do you do?" I don't know what to say. Am I an unpublished writer, an unqualified educator, or an unemployed engineer. Or maybe a homemaker... but I'm truly terrible at that. If I claim homemaking, I might have to wash my kitchen floor more than once a month.

Anyone else have this problem? Have you claimed to be a writer even if you are under-published?

Yeshanu

Elf Queen
Registered
Reaction score
You're a writer if you write words, published or not.

You're a homemaker if you make a home for yourself and family, even if the floors aren't as clean as the mop sellers would like you to have them.

But basically, you're a full time person, trying to make a life as much as you are a living. Go beyond defining yourself by your job, and find out what and who you really are inside your skin.

When I did that, I found out that I really, deep down inside, define myself as a musician, even though I've only ever earned seventy dollars in forty years of playing instruments and singing. But music is what defines me, not what I do for a living.

Clair Dickson

A dark core to every cloud
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bofexler.blogspot.com
I think you're going to have to figure out what to call yourself-- and this is more about introspection than anything. But, you will have to realize and potentially get over your self-perception problems with several of the titles listed.