Need help building a reading list...

SFLP

Just tell me to shut up.
Registered
Reaction score
Hey, guys:

Apologies for the long post; it's a hazard of touch typing. :p

I'm new to erotica writing. What's worse, though, is that I'm relatively new to erotica as a reader. I just haven't read that much. I've been trying to choose what to get based on reviews and stuff, but it's easy to find some real uninspired, boring, icky or typo-laden stories that way!

Also, if I'm picking, I tend to go after certain types of books. (A decent looking menage story will always suck me in.) I'm looking to sort of broaden my horizons, so I understand the market a bit better.

At some point this week I'm going to buy (ebook) or order about a dozen books, and I'd like help in choosing. (I read about 5 books a week, so that's not that many books for me.) I'm looking for your favorite books in the various different erotica and erotic romance genres and their subgenres.

For example, what's the "you've got to read this!" vampire book that you recommend? Shapechanger? Sci-fi? Suspense?

I'm not into the extreme: incest, rape, pedophilia, bestiality, etc., and don't really care to explore those.

I don't mind BDSM but it mostly doesn't "do" it for me. (Eh, well, maybe a bit of bondage ;) lol). It's not an "ick" thing for me...I guess it's just when someone starts calling someone else "Master" it makes me giggle. I think I should read a good example or two of this, though.

Other than that, though, I can't think of anything that I don't like, so far.

In non-erotic fiction, I read a lot of SF/F. I read suspense, police procedurals, thrillers, occasional mysteries, some horror, and quite a bit of contemporary fiction.