PDA

View Full Version : Transition from neolithic to early Bronze, in Egypt.

sirensix
01-30-2009, 05:09 AM
I'm probably on a wild goose chase here, since I've been researching for 2 years and have found almost nothing, but I was directed here because I was annoying the good folks in the fantasy/sci-fi forum.

I'm trying to get some sense of what life was like (or could realistically have been like!) along the Nile in 3200 BC. BEFORE the pharaohs. This subject is not covered in ANY published book, except in 1-2 vague paragraphs in the beginning of many Egyptian history books. The reason for this is simply that there is not enough archaelogical evidence of this period for anyone to say with any certainty what life was like then.

I am trying to create a fictional society that exists along a major river valley in a semi-arid climate, and which is just beginning to discover bronze. I'm having a devil of a time picturing the size/population/demographics/division of labor of villages, and also trying to wrap my brain around how they would have fought "wars" among one another (strategies, weapons, level of organization). If anyone has info or expertise that may help me develop this, please let me know!

Carmy
01-30-2009, 05:36 AM
I'm sorry I can't offer you any real help, only a few suggestions.

I would imagine neolithic people in Egypt would be very much like neolithic people elsewhere. Before bronze, they'd use wood or large bones as weapons, rocks too. Although probably arid, Egypt was greener during the time of the Pharoahs so I imgine it would be even more fertile farther back in time.

Maybe take a look at Jean Auel's novels, which are set in caveman times. There may be some pointers there you could use.

Good luck!

Lady_of_Myth
01-30-2009, 06:00 AM
Actually from what I understand on the subject pre-pharoh egypt was pretty green it was the pharohs' constant building that sucked the life out of eqypt making it a desert.