Agent first, writing last?

DirtySyko

Registered
Reaction score
Since I'm new to how this works I did some research about agents, what you should and shouldn't do, and all of that good, lovely, nonsense. Anyways, I read that you should get an agent BEFORE you even begin working no your story/book/novel... Infact, it said in your query letter that you should tell your agent when you believe the book would get completed. That seems backwards to me. Shouldn't you have a MS completely done before you even go looking for an agent?

Also, does anyone have any stories about trying to get published without the help of an agent. I don't mean self publishing either, I mean a real publishing company.

And finally... When sending our query letters do you only send one at a time, and wait for the response of each agent individuality, or do I mass send them and wait for multiple agents to call me, then I send out multiple proposals, and then I pick which agent I want to represent me? I'm not exactly sure.

Jaws

Apex Predator
Registered
Reaction score
Loitering just offshore on the Silicon Prairie
Website
scrivenerserror.blogspot.com
It depends. Really. In no particular order, at least the following factors go into the "best" order for "begin writing manuscript," "finish writing manuscript," "get agent," and "submit to appropriate publisher(s)":
  • Whether you've had a comparable book previously published by a commercial publisher
  • Whether you've ever had any book previously published by a commercial publisher
  • Whether you have a substantial nonbook publishing record
  • Whether you're a celebrity
  • Whether you're an academic or other recognized expert in an area closely related to the book's subject matter
  • Whether the subject matter is time-sensitive
  • Whether the subject matter require extensive, subject-unique investigation (e.g., a biography)
  • Whether the work is fictional