PDA

View Full Version : UK writers using US agents?

TrixieLox
01-26-2009, 05:22 PM
Hey,

I hope you’re all well. I’m a British writer who’s just finished my first YA novel. US agent has expressed interest (from informal chats, not seen my work yet, ha ha – so ‘interest’ is a tenuous word!). Anyways, the plan was to send to UK agents but, in light of this interest, am thinking about including US agents in the mix. I mean, it’d be great to crack the US market!

Any experiences of Brit writers working with a US agent? Can US agents do just as good a job with UK market as UK agents?

Trix

qwerty
01-26-2009, 06:42 PM
I know a YA writer who lived in Liverpool but didn't have success subbing to UK agents, so tried US agents. Result was she became repped by Jenny Bent of Trident Media and got a deal with PAL.

Chanelley
01-26-2009, 06:50 PM
I'm a UK author and I'm submitting to both. I don't see much of a difference in working with a UK agent or as US agent. Only problem would be meeting face to face. But emails and telephone calls can do the trick. I'd probably go visit a few times, especially for meetings with publishers, but I can't say at the moment. I have read on agents blogs that they sometimes have international clients. It's definitely not unheard of.

waylander
01-26-2009, 07:13 PM
I can think of a good number of UK authors who have US agents.
Most of the communication is done by e-mail anyway so it really isn't much of a problem. A lot of authors don't see their agent face-to-face for years

firedrake
01-27-2009, 05:52 PM
I'm actually doing the opposite! I'm querying UK agents as well as US ones, mainly because I think my novel might do better in the UK market.

I figure, nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Deccydiva
01-27-2009, 06:15 PM
That's a good point, Firedrake.