Just When You're On Your Last Leg...

Cassiopeia

Otherwise Occupied
Registered
Reaction score
Star to the right and straight on till morning.
...and have lost faith in people and the world around you, someone does something so astonishing it gives you hope.

As many of you know, I lost my job last summer. It's been hard. We are all feeling it and I'm not the first or the last to fall in the downsizing or unfair business practices today.

I had subscribed to Rosetta Stone last March in the hopes of learning Spanish to get me the job I wanted. I had been using it for three months and then with work and then being layed off and my mother passing and a whole lot of things, I just didn't use it. My subscription was online and I did it online. I realized this last July too late to stop them, that it was an auto renew order. Yeah, the fine print wasn't there as I recalled.

So anyway, last night I get this email from Rosetta Stone saying they were in the process of renewing, AGAIN! I phoned just now to say please, stop. I can't afford this. I asked for help to cancel the subscription and was sent to perhaps one of the kindest people I have ever been graced to speak to.

She didn't even ask me for a reason. She went right to stopping it though it had gone through this morning and was refunding my money and canceling the subscription. I explained to her that because I had lost my job I just couldn't afford it and had meant to cancel this sooner but it was one of those things that slips through the cracks and that I appreciated the notice because I didn't get one last summer for the renewal then.