Do you ever surprise yourself?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zanizh

Lost in Revision Hell
Registered
Reaction score
I write fiction novels. Nothing else has ever appealed to me. Now, I've finished my first short story and I'm astounded by it. I've never had an interest writing short fiction and now that the story is done, I can't believe I wrote it.

When you're writing, do you ever "mistakenly" write something that is completely out of your element? What was your reaction to it?

KTC

Stand in the Place Where You Live
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
ktcraig.com
There isn't much that I don't tackle, as I am a freelancer. I usually say 'yes' and figure out how to do it later. Having said this, there have been several times where I've surprised myself. Some of the topics I tackle in my freelancing life are so far out of my element that I honestly can't believe I wrote them when I look at the finished copy on paper. I got a copy of a magazine in the mail this week that had something I wrote on the back cover. I don't even remember the stuff in the article...it's not only out of my element, man, it's out of my league. My reaction to things like this is invariably the suspicion that I have multiple personality disorder. (-;

TheIT

Infuriatingly Theoretical
Registered
Reaction score
Yes. I'm a novelist, too, and figured I could never condense my thoughts enough to write anything short. My fantasy universe evolved out of an idea which was supposed to be a short story. That was several novel drafts ago. :D

Then I tried some of the AW flash fiction challenges and the SF/F monthly challenges and realized hey, this is fun, and I can keep it short if I concentrate on a single idea. I think it helps that the prompts have been one word prompts. I've been using the challenges to fill in back story from my fantasy universe and to explore character issues.

It's good to stretch and try something different. You might discover something you enjoy.