What is Christian Fiction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Homesar Runner

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a newbie, and if this question has been done to death already, perhaps someone knowledgeable can give me a link to the thread where that happened.

Otherwise, I'd like not only to pose the question itself, but to ask whether Jan Karon's Mitford series is (or is not) part of the Christian fiction genre. I've read several of the series (not finished them all yet). And, rummaging around this site, I've turned up someone's comment that the Mitford series is "contemporary/mainstream." That surprised me. It also surprised me that Karon's work hasn't (as I can tell!) been mentioned in the Christian fiction category.

Hence my question.

I'm mulling over to write something which some would say is similar to Karon's series, but from my point of view is significantly different. But, as I'm stewing, I thought I'd toss this query out on the table to see what kinds of answers it attracts.

Homesar

trebuchet

Hurls Adverbs
Registered
Reaction score
Homesar -

I'm new to this Christian fiction idea myself. I've never read or even heard of the Mitford series, but I'm going to check it out now. Your question brings to mind a related question . . . genre crossing. If the Christian message is subtle, couldn't it be that there's more than one Christian book in the mainstream, and wouldn't that be a good thing for a writer who wanted to share that message with the mainstream?

I'm a newcomer to these forums myself, so I apologize if this has been dealt with a million times already. :)

Homesar Runner

Registered
Reaction score
defining and crossing the genre

trebuchet said:
I'm new to this Christian fiction idea myself. I've never read or even heard of the Mitford series, but I'm going to check it out now.