Rolling eyes

Kryianna

Registered
Reaction score
I'm having problems with a new co-worker. I've been working at the company for almost four years now, and am probably the person most familiar with how all of our tech stuff works. The company, and the rest of my co-workers, know this. The new guy literally knows nothing about what we do -- while he has a doctorate, it is in a completely different field. He has twenty years of experience in the military (recently retired from service).

His words and actions are not respecting me, or my history with the company. I have specific instances, and have been dealing with my direct supervisor on this.

Yesterday, though, in the middle of a dialogue, the new guy rolled his eyes at me. To me, that's another way of not showing respect to someone, and not something to do in a professional capacity. And it's not like it was a simple one roll; it was sustained eyes fluttering upwards for several seconds.

It's not like I'm going to complain to my boss or to his boss about the eye-rolling, but if he does it again, I'm going to ask him not to do it. And I'm afraid that's going to piss him off.

What do you guys think? Part of me says that I'm overreacting, on this as well as the entire situation. Is eye-rolling as rude as I think--and have always been taught--it is?

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I might suggest either one of two things.

One, give it some time. He might turn out to be a nice guy and he'll lighten up a little on his own. I know a lot of military people, both current and former, and it can take a while for other, non-military, folks to get used to them. Of course, some former military people never do readjust to the "outside world".