PDA

View Full Version : Extracting a bullet.

dianeP
12-26-2008, 11:29 PM
I have a scene in which the hero has a bullet in his calf. The heroine pulls the skin apart and goes in with her fingers to pull it out. Other than taking in a deep breath and paling slightly, the hero shows no sign of pain.

This is my first attempt at an action/romance and while I'm enjoying having a few scenes that are a little over the top, a little far-fetched, I don't want it to be completely cartoonish or super-heroish.

Is this too over the top, or reasonably believable?

GirlWithPoisonPen
12-26-2008, 11:54 PM
What kind of bullet are we talking about? How far in? Can she see the bullet or is it embedded?

Usually you need tweezers or clamps to get one out. Digging through muscle with fingers would be hard because it's not as squishy as the skin.

If she started digging around with her fingers -- rather than using a tweezer -- he'd probably pass out from the pain.

Rabe
12-27-2008, 12:04 AM
I have a scene in which the hero has a bullet in his calf. The heroine pulls the skin apart and goes in with her fingers to pull it out. Other than taking in a deep breath and paling slightly, the hero shows no sign of pain.

This is my first attempt at an action/romance and while I'm enjoying having a few scenes that are a little over the top, a little far-fetched, I don't want it to be completely cartoonish or super-heroish.

Is this too over the top, or reasonably believable?

I do also wonder why he's feeling no pain.

Did he get drunk?

Take painkillers?

Deep relaxation meditation?

Some other method?

Because, yeah, a whole lotta far fetched to me if there wasn't a pain blocking method used. Plus, just reaching in to pull out the bullet? I'm having a problem with that as well.

What kind of bullet used, fired from what kind weapon?

Rabe...

dianeP
12-27-2008, 12:32 AM
Hmmm... a small bullet, and it is just under the skin.