ID an animal skull?

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
This is not for story research but another little project. Would this be a mink skull? the two big teeth are fake but the sockets were fairly large suggesting some kind of carnivore?

4.jpg

Last edited:

Fenika

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
If you provide a sharper image with 2 angles you'll have a better chance of getting an ID. Oh, and get a good shot of those teeth.

Someone might know right off, or have a mammalogy book with skull ID (or maybe there's something online?)

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It kind of looks like a coyote skull. The size seems right as well.

I'm no skull expert however.

jgold

Grinning
Registered
Reaction score
If it's a North American mammal, try this link here and do a visual search to compare.

Based on that picture, I'd say raccoon, but it could also be a member of the weasel family. You'll need to compare the number/type of teeth along the profile to be sure.

Puma

Retired and loving it!
Registered
Reaction score
From the size and shape of the front teeth between the canines, I'm more inclined to say some kind of grass eater - groundhog (woodchuck) maybe. But a lot also depends on the size of the skull - it could be a smaller rodent which I suspect from the size of the bottle beside the statue in the picture. So maybe a prairie dog or ground squirrel. The nasal area is also a bit odd - there don't seem to be any remnants of bone left to indicate the division. Puma

From the link given above - a skunk looks like a definite possibility.

Last edited:

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
You need three views, front, side, and top, with a ruler in each picture. Images must be sharp and lighting consistent.