PDA

View Full Version : Police/Murder Questioning

Sarita
12-20-2008, 09:09 PM
Quick question.

Would the police take someone in for questioning in this situation?

A murder occurs on someone's land in the middle of the night. The police go question the elderly land owners around 6am, after conducting crime scene work, to find out if they saw or heard anything. The wife wakes up while they're there, saying she dreamt that so-and-so was murdered, but her version of the murder doesn't match up at all with the actual evidence.

Would she be taken in for questioning because she knew of the murder? Or would they let it go because she has no real evidence of the murder, just a dream?

Ucla_sb
12-20-2008, 09:38 PM
I used to be a police officer so maybe i can help. Did she know of the person murdered? Was it the same person as in the dream? If so yes she would be taken in for probably light questioning and to write a statement that may be useless since it was a dream. But regardless the land owners would be asked for a statement even just to say they dont know anything since it was their land.

Sarita
12-20-2008, 09:44 PM
I used to be a police officer so maybe i can help. Did she know of the person murdered? Was it the same person as in the dream? If so yes she would be taken in for probably light questioning and to write a statement that may be useless since it was a dream. But regardless the land owners would be asked for a statement even just to say they dont know anything since it was their land.
She did know the person murdered. And it was the same person she dreamt of. Basically, the police were asking questions of the husband before saying the victim was murdered (where were you last night, did you hear or see anything unusual, when was the last time you saw so-and-so.) When the wife woke up, she just flat out said "He was murdered up by the lake and this is how it happened."

But it wasn't how it happened, and that was really obvious by way of the evidence.