filedby author - PW

Status
Not open for further replies.

scope

Commonsensical Maverick
Registered
Reaction score
Does anyone have any info re the following new beta mode service I saw advertised today in Publishers Lunch. It's called "filedby author" and allows published authors to claim their own page (a kind of blog/web page) at apparently no charge. It seems interesting, but I'm not sure if there are any legal ramifications to published authors. I read their terms and conditions but I'm far from a lawyer.

Last edited:

steveokeefe

Registered
Reaction score
Scope,

I'm working with filedbyauthor on PR for the launch. I don't have any comment on the legal boilerplate. It seems pretty clear from Wikipedia that you can maintain a database of just about anything as long as you aren't infringing copyright. I have a page on Wikipedia that someone put up, without my authorization or consent, and I am not allowed to edit it. What are the legal ramifications of that? Filedbyauthor believes I should be able to correct and control, to some extent, the content on my page. For me, that's an improvement. I'd be happy to answer any questions about the site.

With Thanks,
STEVE O'KEEFE
Claim Your filedbyauthor Page at
http://author.filedby.com

scope

Commonsensical Maverick
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Steve,