Serious security flaw found in IE

Sargentodiaz

Registered
Reaction score
I've been using Opera for a couple of years now and like it far better than IE!

brokenfingers

Walkin' That Road
Registered
Reaction score
Wow, I didn't even know it was still around!

Tirjasdyn

Outline Maven
Registered
Reaction score
Website
michellejnorton.com
Wow, I didn't even know it was still around!

The security flaw or IE?

IE has ALWAYS been one huge mess of security flaws. But then it's always been one huge mess of flaws. They don't fix these problems...MS has a history of just hiding them until their found again.

Irritating really.

Angelinity

absent
Registered
Reaction score
Microsoft says it has detected attacks against IE 7.0 but said the "underlying vulnerability" was present in all versions of the browser.

Other browsers, such as Firefox, Opera, Chrome, Safari, are not vulnerable to the flaw Microsoft has identified.

Said Mr Ferguson: "If users can find an alternative browser, then that's good mitigation against the threat."

But Microsoft counselled against taking such action.

"I cannot recommend people switch due to this one flaw," said John Curran, head of Microsoft UK's Windows group.

He added: "We're trying to get this resolved as soon as possible."

...hm i wonder why?

benbradley

It's a doggy dog world
Registered
Reaction score
I'm shocked - shocked, I tell you - to hear that a Microsoft product has a security flaw!

Sargentodiaz

Registered
Reaction score
I've also used Firefox and it's a decent browser.
I haven't used the MS email program (can't even remember its name) for years. I'm on Cox and theirs works just fine.

KTC

Stand in the Place Where You Live
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
ktcraig.com
Kevin, waiting to see the PC/MAC commercial for this one.

RJK

Sheriff Bullwinkle the Poet says:
Registered
Reaction score