How are books provided at bookstore signings?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan B

Accordion Dreams
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.blairkilpatrick.com
I know this is a naive question, but I'm wondering what role the author plays in providing the books for author events at bookstores. (This is assuming the book is not self-published.)

I'd kind of figured that the bookstore either has some on hand already, or--more likely for a new author--at least agrees to order a modest number from the supplier ( the publisher or the book wholesaler the store uses.) But I'm discovering that it can be more complicated, depending on all sorts of things. Sometimes the author has to provide the books, and they are sold on a "consignment" basis. Which raises a whole other set of issues.

Anyone have any experiences they could share? I'm very new at this!

Thanks!

flashgordon

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bauuinstitute.com
Usually if the book is carried by the major distributors, then the bookstore orders copies from them for the signing. If the book is self-published or published by a small press, then either the bookstore orders copies directly from the publisher or from the author. The key is that the books are returnable and that the bookstore gets the standard 40% discount - otherwise, it is generally not viable for them.

Since yours is published by University Press of Mississippi, they should have their books distributed by Ingram, Baker & Taylor, or another distributor and the bookstore most likely will order through them. However, some small indie bookstores do not use these distributors and rely on smaller, more regional distributors.

Basically, each book signing is different because of the dynamics of the industry.

Susan B

Accordion Dreams
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.blairkilpatrick.com