PDA

View Full Version : Names for British characters

Cybele
12-09-2008, 08:29 PM
Hi! I'm a French speaking writer who needs names for British characters. Of course, I can find some pretty easily but what I need advice on is this...

I need a name that would be acceptable for both a male and a female character (born in the late 80s or early 90s), so there can be a confusion. It can also be only a nickname that works for both the boy and the girl when their actual names are different. Any idea?

Then, if you think of other names for British people around that age, feel free to share too. I still have a few other characters who need names.

Sophia
12-09-2008, 08:33 PM
A few off the top of my head:

Sam
Tony / Toni (if the name is only heard, not seen written down)
Alex
Ronnie (Can be used for Veronica)
George (Can be used as a shortened form of Georgina)

jvc
12-09-2008, 08:37 PM
Dani/Danni/Danny which is short for Daniel (for a boy) or Danielle (for a girl).

Kitty Pryde
12-09-2008, 08:43 PM
Ashley
Marty (Martin or Martina)
JoJo

about half the english girls of that age that I know are named Emma, Jemma, or Gemma.

waylander
12-09-2008, 08:44 PM
Les - which can be Lesley(female) or Leslie (male)
Alex - which can be Alexandra(female) or Alexander (male)
Sandy - which can be Sandra(female) or Alexander(male)
Marty/i - which can be Martina(female) or Martin(male)

Cybele
12-09-2008, 09:02 PM
Thanks to all of you. :)
I'll take note of your suggestions and ask which ones my sister and co-writer likes the most.

qwerty
12-09-2008, 09:31 PM
Nickie - for Nicola or Nicholas.
Chris - Christine or Christopher

At the time you're talking about, old fashioned names were in for girls (like Emma and Emily) and soon after even older names like Daisy, Ruby, Polly. Sarah is safe for that era too. For boys, Paul, David, Matthew & Stephen are safe for most time zones. Steer clear of boys' names like Gary, Wayne & Dean.