Multiple Submissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lupis

Hi, quick question.

Is it particularly bad etiquette to send multiple short stories to the same publisher? As a novice writer, I definately want to avoid stepping on toes, and having someone go through a slush pile and see several stories from the same writer may seem either desperate or annoying. I know perseverance is good quality, but I just want to get some good advice concerning multiple submissions.

Thanks a lot!
Lupis

Tish Davidson

Registered
Reaction score
My take is that it is better to diversify and not send too many stories to toe same publisher before hearing back from them. Study the market and send each story where it seems best suited. It will increase your chances of acceptance. Diifferent editors have different tastes, and what suits one may not resonate with anothe, so there is no reason to limit yourself by sending a bunch of stories in a short period of time to the same publisher unless you have already received strong encouragement from them. If you get a rejection on your first story and you think you have another story that is best suited to that publisher, then by all means send it, but I would not innundate them. It really does pay to research markets and target your stories accordingly.

arrowqueen

RIP, our sarky besom
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
I usually send batches of three. I've been doing it for 12 years and nobody's hit me yet.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Lupis said:
Hi, quick question.

Is it particularly bad etiquette to send multiple short stories to the same publisher? As a novice writer, I definately want to avoid stepping on toes, and having someone go through a slush pile and see several stories from the same writer may seem either desperate or annoying. I know perseverance is good quality, but I just want to get some good advice concerning multiple submissions.

Thanks a lot!
Lupis