Finding an Agent

RunawayScribe

It is what it is.
Registered
Reaction score
I've never done this before, so my question's going to be of an amateurish nature. I've written my first novel, and I want to publish. I'll be doing crazy editing before that, for sure, but in the spirit of thinking ahead, I've heard it's very difficult to get a publisher to look at you without having an agent. So, my inquiry. How do you go about finding an agent who may be interested in your work, and how would you approach him or her about it? How can you best present yourself to an agent? Are there any specific do's/don'ts?

Thanks all,
Runaway

KTC

Stand in the Place Where You Live
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
ktcraig.com
You send an extremely well written query letter to the agent you want to attract. FOLLOW the guidelines of the agent and the agency that you are querying.

GO TO: www.agentquery.com to find an agent that fits your genre, etc.

If you go to the Share Your Work section here-- the password is vista --you will find lots of help in the query letter department.

Good luck. Excellent writing in your query is of the utmost importance. There is also a lot of helpful information at agentquery.com that you can read.

Julie Worth

What? I have a title?
Registered
Reaction score