I was (almost) scammed!!!

Alpha Echo

I should be writing.
Registered
Reaction score
I feel like such an a$$.

I put my old laptop on Craig's list to sell. I've never had any problems on there before. My hubby and I once found an apartment to rent, I sold my old car and various other things - a table, a couch, a TV...no problems.

I got several emails from interested parties immediately.

The first to respond was someone who wanted it shipped to Nigeria. Said they would pay an extra $100 for shipping. I received one email from Pay Pal saying that the money had been sent to my account, then another one saying because they wanted to protect both the buyer and seller, I wouldn't actually get the money until I had a tracking number for the shipment.

So off I go to the post office. I'm not very experienced with Pay Pal and thought nothing of it. I send the package. I then try to send the tracking info to Pay Pal and can't figure it out, so I call customer service who promptly tells me I've been scammed.

I went right back to the post office and fortunately got both my money and my laptop back.

The most annoying part? This guy is still emailing me asking me why I haven't given him the tracking number and what's going on. I filtered his emails so that they are immediately deleted. I'm a little nervous about it though.

And I am now only accepting cash.

Anyone need a laptop? :D (I would never give any of my fellow writers a Gateway!!!)

Cybernaught

Decker
Registered
Reaction score
Oh man, anything with Nigeria is a big red flag. These Nigerian scammers make a fortune ruining other people's lives. I'm glad that you got your laptop back.

Alpha Echo

I should be writing.
Registered
Reaction score
Really? I mean, seriously? I kinda at first thought it was cool. Nigeria? Really? My husband had his doubts wondering why someone from Nigeria was buying a used laptop from someone in the US.

chevbrock

Registered
Reaction score