I'm Quitting Writing...

Status
Not open for further replies.

scheherazade

Human
Registered
Reaction score
...Not really, but sometimes when I'm feeling down on myself I convince myself I'm going to quit writing. It's too hard to keep chugging away at my novel. No one's going to read it anyway. I'm a terrible writer. I'm wasting my time when I could be focusing on developing my social life or building my career or starting a family or whatever.

I know that this is irrational, but the idea comes to mind a lot when I'm feeling bad. Does anyone else ever feel this urge to quit? What do you do to deal with it? Do you try to rationalize yourself out of it? Or do you just give in for a short time, stop writing and let yourself rejuvenate, until you can't not write? Or...some other strategy?

Reaction score
Short answer? No, never. I've never considered quitting, not for a moment.

Suppose I should quit this thread pronto, then. :D

Cybernaught

Decker
Registered
Reaction score
I feel like that every once in a while, scheherazade. The only thing that keeps me going is my love for storytelling and the fact that life would be meaningless to me without writing. Hang in there. :Hug2:

icerose

Lost in School Work
Registered
Reaction score
This is what I love to do, if it never goes anywhere, so what? It's what I want to do, no waste in that.

Clair Dickson

A dark core to every cloud
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bofexler.blogspot.com
Sometimes I feel this way-- up to the quitting part. I know me well enough to know I'll never not write. I have too many stories, characters, and ideas to stop. My head would explode. But sometimes it's hard to keep going when it feels like I'm just writing junk and no one would publish me anyway and so on. But I can't quit.

chevbrock

Registered
Reaction score