Biographies

J. Y. Moore

Registered
Reaction score
As an unpublished novel author, I am in the process of submitting queries. Many publishers/agents request a biography or resume. Is this a request for my life history in narrative form, a listing of publishing credits, or a work history? :Shrug: Thanks in advance for the info!

Liam Jackson

Heathen Horde Elder
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Short and sweet, showing credits and/or experiences that may have contributed to your story. Some authors may have an extensive biography. Mine was about half a paragraph.

J. Y. Moore

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks, Liam!

It's a shame they aren't more specific about these things. The dictionary says a biography is a written account of one's life - you'd think they would at least ask for the author's "literary biography" (or something similar), huh? :Soapbox:

Sorry about that.
Thanks again

Liam Jackson

Heathen Horde Elder
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
You're most welcome.
The deeper you get into the process, the worse it gets. Acronyms, buzz words and phrases... it's maddening for a short while. The upside is that it doesn't take that long to become acclimated.

Best of luck to you.

LJ

azbikergirl

I really do look like this.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
fantasyauthor.blogspot.com
I've always wondered whether I should include computer-related non-fiction publication credits in a query for a novel (i.e., they have nothing to do with my novel). I've had no fiction published. Ever.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
I wouldn't include blogs or websites or such. Now if it's the online version of Asimov or Readers' Digest, then sure, why not. I include my e-zine because it's a paid gig.

J. Y. Moore

Registered
Reaction score
Just wanted to say "Thanks" to everyone! At least now I'll know why some of my submissions are being rejected! :(