Non-food rewards for word count

Inkspill

Registered
Reaction score
Hello.

Because NaNo started right after I trick-or-treated in all my costumed glory, I rewarded myself with candy bars. I'm only halfway through my bag--and a bit over my halfway goal--but I can already see the ill effects of sitting at my keyboard and munching on my Halloween goodies.

The thing is, I love food. I love rewarding myself with food--but this can't continue for the rest of NaNo!

I'm a student, and right now, I can't afford to buy a cd and such whenever I reach 5k more or so. I was wondering what everyone else uses as rewards for themselves.

I've used Write or Die, word wars...but nothing gets my but in gear more than a warm brownie.

What about you? Any advice for a munching writer?

Deccydiva

Back from the dead
Registered
Reaction score
I'm on Welfare so I can't splash out either. However, I don't think that eating "unsuitable" food for 30 days is going to lead to a major problem, just challenge yourself to a diet afterwards if you're worried!
For me, even a treat-sized bar is a reward as I normally don't buy anything like that. If you want to avoid the food treat, why not think of something you do say once a week that you like, and get an extra session of that? Or don't do any chores for a day... there are plenty of ways to mark your achievement and I'm sure plenty of ideas will be added to this thread. Good luck!

Ugawa

It's a catastrophic success!
Registered
Reaction score
I don't really award myself with anything. To me the reward is my word count <-- sounds corny, but true :D.

Try rewarding yourself with some times to play on a game or something?

XX

Deccydiva

Back from the dead
Registered
Reaction score
Something else I do - and have done tonight - is to buy a good quality version of a favourite food instead of the cheap, tasteless version. Hmm, just finished a home made chicken madras...

Clair Dickson

A dark core to every cloud
Registered
Reaction score
Website