Writing & Mood

Status
Not open for further replies.

scheherazade

Human
Registered
Reaction score
Some people use writing as an outlet to deal with the problems of life. Other people let a depressed mood keep them from writing. How does your mood affect what you write about and how productive you are?

For me, every time I get into a funk I feel compelled to trash the novel I've been developing for the last 11 months. When I'm down I can't write. When I can't write I get down. Then I feel like tossing my WIP into a drawer somewhere and just avoiding the whole cycle.

How does your mood affect your writing? Do you do anything to prevent a bad mood from trashing your novel, or to harness a great mood into helping you churn out pages?

StoryG27

Miss Behave
Registered
Reaction score
Bad moods used to propel my writing, now they freeze it. It's like my creativity just locks up, it's there, I just can't use it. I read a lot when that happens. I read books by authors who have always inspired me to write and it may take months, but it never fails to pull me out of the funk. Even with that inspiration, I still have to force myself back into it once I have that little shove, I really have to dig to keep going, then it comes easier. I also do a lot of revising and editing when I'm in a funk, which often leads to rewriting, and then helps me to get that new writing wheel rolling.

Reaction score
One of the best pieces of advice I ever heard was 'write through the pain'. I used to avoid writing about certain issues until I was over them, but now I use them when they're raw to make my writing more realistic.

I went through a pretty bad few weeks recently where everything in life seemed to go wrong, but I kept on writing. Looking back I can't see any difference in what I wrote compared to previous projects so maybe I've mastered the art of detachment and actually can write through a depression after all.