Question about memoirs...(the use of real names)

Status
Not open for further replies.

DTKelly

The Rememberer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.dtkelly.net
I've recently agreed to undertake the task of writing my father's memoirs (he was a police officer for over thirty years.)

My question is this. What are the laws concerning the use of real people's names, like if I'm describing a scene where he's named several co-workers. Should I seek approvals from all people I mention? And what if they're no longer living?

Or should I change names/ omit?

I'm new to the biography scene, please help.

Thank you in advance!

:)

TashaGoddard

Away with the fairies
Registered
Reaction score
I'm afraid I don't know the rules on this, myself. I know there are few people around here writing autobiographical or memoirs-type books, so hopefully someone will be able to tell you.

I recently read an autobiography of a female (British) police detective, which was very interesting. As I recall (it was a library book, so I can't look it up), she said at the start that most of the names had been changed, but some of them had been kept the same with permission from the people or their families. This included colleagues, victims and criminals, I believe. Some of the larger, more publicised cases that she was involved in, I think she used the original names for and I believe that she had permission from a couple of colleauges to use their names.

I imagine it would be very difficult to get everyone's permission, in the case of a police officer, because presumably you will be discussing victims, criminals and other police officers (and maybe prosecutors, etc. as well). It seems to me that the safest thing would be to change names, but I honestly don't know what the 'norm' is, nor do I know the legalities of it.

Hope someone else is able to chime in with more useful help!

KTC

Stand in the Place Where You Live
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
ktcraig.com