Should I be worried?

Rose English

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at NaNo. I'm a planner so I had the detailed 30 point outline prepared the week beforehand.

Well, my male MC has pretty much derailed everything. He persists in having his own say in what happens next. 'We' seem to be experimenting as we go, we're head hopping, we're screenwriting and so on. I sit down with my outline but when I start to write all this other stuff comes out instead. I am grateful for these ideas but frankly I'm concerned at how far away from the outline I can safely wander. I'm terrified 'he's' going to dump me in the middle of week 2 and leave me with no way to get back.

Has anyone else experienced anything like this, and if you did 'go with the flow' did you complete NaNo? Where you able to edit your work into something usable at the end? Or should I gag 'him' and all this other fun stuff and stick to my outline? I know it's down to me at the end of the day but I'd love to know what you guys think...

Soccer Mom

Crypto-fascist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Yes, I've been there before. Keep going and when you get done, this head-hopping, screenwriting, place-holder laden mess will actually be your new outline to write from and put the ms into shape. This is actually how I tend to outline.

AmandaAcidic

Good morning beautiful!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
amandalynb.blogspot.com
I wouldn't be worried. Maybe your MC will come out with something even better than you planned.

If he does dump you, just go back to your outline. It's what I'd do.

Kalyke

Registered
Reaction score