What are the advantages to using script writing software?

BloodMoney

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
I've always just used Word to write my scripts, wondering if I should bother with some "proper" software.

A friend has Final Draft and I had a bit of a play round briefly the other day. I cant say I found it particularly useful, though that's probably because I'm not familiar with it. Word just seems so fast, though once again this is probably only because I am more familiar with it (I know the shortcuts and can navigate between action and dialog pretty quickly etc)

So I guess my question is, what is the advantage to using a program like Final Draft? Is it quicker or more efficient than Word? (Assuming I get proficient with it of course). Bearing in mind I am not a professional writer I just write for my own independent films, so I'm not really looking for a certain industry standard or common format, just fast and efficient and easy to use.

Advice please?

Last edited:

clockwork

In the zone...
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
redzonefilm.net
It's hard to say really because it's hard to appreciate something you're not missing. For me, I use Final Draft because it's been specifically built for that single purpose. It just seems to "work." It can be tricky to pick up, I wasn't sure if I'd like it but I would never go back to Word now, personally. You can probably do everything in Word that you can in FD but I suspect, and from my experience, it's easier and more intuitive, especially with things like margins. It's also got a wealth of helpful scriptwriting tools (scene navigators, script notes, production reports, help with transitions, templates) which can help if you like that sort of thing. :)

ComicBent

Registered
Reaction score