? re soy milk

MaryMumsy

the original blond bombshell
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
My family comes to my house for Thanksgiving. My nephew's wife is lactose intolerant. Can I use soy milk in the mashed potatoes? I can get around the butter with margarine, and I get C**l Whip for her to use on pie, but I don't want to make two batches of potatoes. Most of our family drowns the potatoes in gravy, but one eats them plain. And I don't want her to think they taste funny. As you can tell, I have no experience with soy milk.

MM

Karen Duvall

Chalice the Hatchet Knight
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.karenduvall.blogspot.com
Mary, I'm borderline lactose intolerant, but I use soy milk for everything just because I think it's yummy! But not everyone likes it. My husband only drinks rice milk. If I were you, I'd ask your nephew's wife what she prefers. There is lactose-free cow's milk that I used to drink, and I couldn't tell the difference.

Bubastes

bananaed
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.gracewen.com
I wouldn't recommend it. The soy milk I see most often in stores (like Silk brand) has sugar added. Not the sort of thing that I'd want in my mashed potatoes. Maybe shop around for a soy milk that contains no sugar? Or use Lactaid, which is cow's milk but is lactose-free (I'd recommend using this).

jennifer75

SupahStah!
Registered
Reaction score
My family comes to my house for Thanksgiving. My nephew's wife is lactose intolerant. Can I use soy milk in the mashed potatoes? I can get around the butter with margarine, and I get C**l Whip for her to use on pie, but I don't want to make two batches of potatoes. Most of our family drowns the potatoes in gravy, but one eats them plain. And I don't want her to think they taste funny. As you can tell, I have no experience with soy milk.

MM

Can you substitute mashed for scalloped? No, that requires cheese doesn't it???? Hmmmm....maybe you could ask her, which she can eat.

Karen Duvall