PDA

View Full Version : ? re soy milk

MaryMumsy
11-03-2008, 02:49 AM
My family comes to my house for Thanksgiving. My nephew's wife is lactose intolerant. Can I use soy milk in the mashed potatoes? I can get around the butter with margarine, and I get C**l Whip for her to use on pie, but I don't want to make two batches of potatoes. Most of our family drowns the potatoes in gravy, but one eats them plain. And I don't want her to think they taste funny. As you can tell, I have no experience with soy milk.

MM

Karen Duvall
11-03-2008, 02:52 AM
Mary, I'm borderline lactose intolerant, but I use soy milk for everything just because I think it's yummy! But not everyone likes it. My husband only drinks rice milk. If I were you, I'd ask your nephew's wife what she prefers. There is lactose-free cow's milk that I used to drink, and I couldn't tell the difference.

Bubastes
11-03-2008, 02:53 AM
I wouldn't recommend it. The soy milk I see most often in stores (like Silk brand) has sugar added. Not the sort of thing that I'd want in my mashed potatoes. Maybe shop around for a soy milk that contains no sugar? Or use Lactaid, which is cow's milk but is lactose-free (I'd recommend using this).

jennifer75
11-03-2008, 02:56 AM
My family comes to my house for Thanksgiving. My nephew's wife is lactose intolerant. Can I use soy milk in the mashed potatoes? I can get around the butter with margarine, and I get C**l Whip for her to use on pie, but I don't want to make two batches of potatoes. Most of our family drowns the potatoes in gravy, but one eats them plain. And I don't want her to think they taste funny. As you can tell, I have no experience with soy milk.

MM

Can you substitute mashed for scalloped? No, that requires cheese doesn't it???? Hmmmm....maybe you could ask her, which she can eat.

Karen Duvall
11-03-2008, 03:01 AM