A first-time author's agent experiences

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shuriken

Registered
Reaction score
This is my first post on this fine forum. I am also a first time author--I run my own business and hugely enjoy it and it is fully my priority, but I wrote a short non-fiction book and sent out some queries. Here are my experiences thus far.

1. I bought Jeff Herman's book, and it's great. But, word of warning to all writers: it's RIDDLED with errors, minor to major. Some agent's names are spelled wrong, for example. I pity the poor writers who send a query to an agent without first checking, and the salutation has the agent's name wrong. Not a good start to a query. ALWAYS DOUBLE CHECK AN AGENT'S NAME AND FIRM.

I might add that for a tome that insists (correctly, I'm sure) that a query or proposal must be 100% error-free (spelling, grammar, punctuation, etc), the Herman book has grammaticals every other page! Minor point, but not so much a lead-by-example thing, eh?

2. Queries. Most web sites and books suggest that replies usually take 2-6 weeks. I've found the vast majority come back quickly. Email queries, especially--I've had replies in one minute to 24 hours, and tons in between. I had two from NYC (I'm on the Left Coast) arrive by snail mail within a week. So replies seem to come very quickly from email queries, and somewhat promptly via snail mail. None have taken over a week!

My tally ended at three proposal requests and 12 rejections. The rejections varied from short: "No thank you" to nice notes of explanation. The majority simply said, "I don't feel I'm the right agent for this book." One proposal was rejected; I'm waiting on the other two.