Help with a Cover letter?

DTKelly

The Rememberer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.dtkelly.net
Hello,

I have a problem; I've never written a cover letter before. Most of the submissions I've done have been online, not needing one.

I've read articles and things about what to include in a cover letter, but it doesn't make it any easier. Basically, the item I would be sending it for an area I've never worked in before (I'm typically an aduly crime writer, this happens to be a children's picture book, and no, no crime in it. ;) )

I don't know what I should put in the cover letter, and I want to resist the 'Hi, I'm sending you tihs because I'm a parent and read a ton of children's books and I think this one is better.'

So, any help? Please? :Hail:

Torgo

Formerly Phantom of Krankor.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
torgoblog.blogspot.com
This is pretty much all you need to say:

Dear Such-and-such,

Here is my picture book story, "Such-and-such", which I hope you will consider for publication.

Yours sincerely,

Towerkel

For a novel, it's handy to have the word count as well.

mommie4a

Mother of All Addictions
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jillmillerzimon.com
Check the Chidlren's forum

You might go visit the Share Your Work - Children's writing forum and private message some of the members who post there (with work to share) re: your questions. Good luck! When it doubt, I always start with Google - "how to write a cover letter for children's writing" seriously - you'd be amazed at what you can find. Some publishers include samples. I'm not sure, but Jenna might even have a sample cover letter on www.absolutewrite.com - I know there's a sample nonfiction book proposal there.

Lauri B

I Heart Mac
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
To tell you the truth, I barely glance at the cover letter. I have no idea what most people put on them, although I'm sure it's pretty much what Torgo says: