Status
Not open for further replies.

Sunshine13

Mom by day, writer by night!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
christacarol.com
Ok so prepping to submit I've noticed a few agents mention "tell us something about yourself in the query". If I have no publishing experience, no writing credentials or meaningful awards, what the heck do I say? It's obvious I love to write and I've always read if you have no experience to put in a query, say nothing at all.

If you've encountered this before, what did you do or what do you suggest I do if you haven't?

Redhedd

Demon Wrangler
Registered
Reaction score
If they say, "tell us something about yourself in the query," that means they want to know about you as a person. This is where you would submit a short bio (250 words or so) that gives a bit of info about your background, your interests, and your goals.

heyjude

Making my own sunshine
Registered
Reaction score
I usually ignore this in regular queries. A couple of times, though, I've had agents email when requesting material and specifically ask about me. I tell them what my degree was in and why that's relevant to what I write, other activities that might lend credibility, stuff like that.

scope

Commonsensical Maverick
Registered
Reaction score
If you have absolutely nothing relevant to say, there's nothing you can or should say. Just skip it.

WendyNYC

fiddle-dee-dee
Registered
Reaction score
If they use that phrase ("tell us about yourself" or something similar) I wouldn't skip it. That doesn't sound like it necessarily has to be about writing, otherwise I'd think they would say "include your writing credentials." What is the tone of your book? Can you say something kind of offbeat about yourself?