Should I call an agent re: status of my submission?

macandal

Registered
Reaction score
My story is perhaps a bit different than others. I had an agent. Yes, had, when I graduated from school. To keep things brief (and please spare me the "why didn't yous" and "you shoul'ves" believe me, I've kicked myself over this many times over the years) let's just say that I graduated from school 9 years ago and got an agent. My novel wasn't quite finished so, between working and family commitments, I managed to finish it 9 years after I graduated. Throughout this time, I only contacted my agent one time and we were still on. Well, when I finally finished my novel I was uncertain as to whether I still had an agent or not. I flew to NYC (I live in the West Coast) to see her and I did. Feeling very embarrassed I re-introduced myself. Surprisingly, she recognized me and asked what had happened to me. In short, I told her that I should've kept in touch but didn't but that all those years I had been writing. This was October 2004 when I went to see her. I was still tweaking with my novel so I had removed about 20% of the novel and I brought with me the remaining. She was very kind with me, reassuring me that I was not the first, nor would I be the last, writer to disappear. "That's what writers do," she said to me. Like I said, all along she was very kind; she never made me feel uncomfortable. I told her I could leave with her the 80% of my novel I had with me but she said "No, give it to me when you have it all." I left NYC feeling better. It appeared I no longer had an agent but I wasn't out in the streets--so to spead--either. Fast forward 6 months later, the end of April (last week to be exact), when I finally sent her the completed novel. She's had it with her approximately one week. In my situation, do you think it is wise to call her to ask for status update or should I just sit back and let her get back to me at her convenience? Thanks a lot.

Last edited:

ritinrider