Weird agent moment

Milwaukee Nick

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a recent lurker who's learned a lot from these posts, and want to first say thanks to all. I'm a sparsely-published short-story writer trying to find an agent for a crime novel. I recently had an odd experience.

I got a phone call from an agent who had requested the full MS -- yippee, right? She was extremely enthusiastic, lots of nice things to say, newer agent with a legit firm with 14 sales (some of them multi-book contracts) in last 12 months. But when I mentioned I had an agent 5 years ago who I haven't talked to since, she cut short the conversation, saying it would be inappropriate to continue while I still had an agent. No offer.

I have no interest in this former agent -- there are some warnings about her on this site among others, I now know -- and I asked the new agent how to disentangle myself. I can't find a contract, so her advice was to send an email and certified letter, etc., which I've done.

So my questions are these: Are my efforts to disentangle sufficient? Should I call my old agent and confirm? She's not yet replied to my email, but it's only been 3 days.

Also, how long do I wait to call back this new agent who certainly seems interested in my book? When the certified letter receipt returns to me? Exactly how excited should I be about this new person? I sent 16 letters out, got 5 partial requests and one full. All rejections but the last, who is this new agent. It seems to me that the fact of the phone call means I am likely to get an offer of representation. Am I off base?

Before the phone call, I was despairing at my rejections. Now I'm skeptical of this prospect of success given this oddball thing, or maybe I should wait until I can snag some superstar agent. It occurs to me that I'm just being a dork, and overthinking, and should simply rejoice at -- possibly -- making it past this first hurdle.