Sword in the Gut: a logistical question

L.Shafter

Registered
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I have a quick question about injury.

One of my characters gets stabbed with a sword in his stomach, and then goes on to do all sorts of things any normal person would die doing in his condition. (Sadly enough, I only just now realized this.)

Can anyone tell me of a wound that would be ultimately fatal, but still allow a person to be alive and able to use their limbs for a few minutes?

Thanks!
~Shafter

RJK

Sheriff Bullwinkle the Poet says:
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a medical expert but I had a friend who once was stabbed in the gut with a knife. It had a six inch blade and went all the way in. He punched the lights out of the guy who stabbed him, threw him into the back of his pickup truck, drove to a payphone, called the cops, waited and turned the guy over to the cops, then drove himself to the emergency room. All this with the knife still sticking out of his ample beer belly.

MelancholyMan

Wear Thick Armor
Registered
Reaction score
As long as you don't pull the knife out you'd stand a good chance of being okay. 'Course a knife ain't a sword and I've never heard of anyone driving themselves to the ER witha sword in their stomach. A sword in the gut is pretty much lights out because once you make a large incision in the abdominal wall, you lose the ability to hold your body erect, among other problems.

Perhaps a severed femoral artery in the leg? It might take a while to bleed to death. Or a blow to the head. Before the swelling shuts you down you might have a little time to do something. A puncture wound in the abdomen could rupture the intestines while giving the receipient enough time to do something heroic. Of course death by infection, the typical end for an untreated belly wound, is rather gruesome. I think I'd go with bleeding to death.

Mike Martyn

Registered
Reaction score