Wish Me Luck! (Better, wish me fortitude!)

Kitty Pryde

i luv you giant bear statue
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
In six days, I am riding my bicycle 335 miles over five days, from Big Bear Lake to Mammoth Mountain (in California). I'm doing it to raise money for the US Adaptive Recreation Center, a non-profit organization where I am a volunteer ski instructor for people with disabilities. I've raised over $1500 over the last few months. As for the ride, I'm waffling back and forth between excited and terrified! I've been training hard, but there are lots and lots of hills.

I decided to do this ride (The Peak-to-Peak Pedal 14) in honor of Emma, one of my good friends. She died two years ago. She had severe spastic quadriplegic cerebral palsy. Although she couldn't walk or talk, she loved skiing more than anyone I have ever met. Without adaptive sports programs, she would never have been able to ski. This ride is shaping up to be the most challenging thing I have ever done, but I'll be riding with her in my mind and my heart.

Just wanted to share that with my AW peeps. Any and all encouragements are welcome!

Here's a picture of Emma and I (me in red, her in blue) taking a hot cocoa break slopeside at Alpine Meadows, Lake Tahoe. She is sitting in a bi-ski, a seat mounted on two skis.

ETA: further down this post is a mini trip report!

sarahwithemmasn6.jpg

Last edited:

Silver King

Megalops Erectus
Registered
Reaction score
Thanks for sharing Emma's story with us. Best of luck to you and all of the skiers during the upcoming event!

:)

TrainofThought

A flowering bud of bitchiness
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.authordenisebaer.com
[FONT=&quot]How awesome, Kitty Pryde! What a beautiful thing to do in memory of Emma. Thanks for sharing this story, great picture and I wish you the best of luck. RIDE ON![/FONT]

willfulone

I am a zebra...
Registered
Reaction score