Earning While Writing - It's Hard, Being an International Exchange Student

Bo Mill

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.deusdies.com
Guys,

I'm pretty new here. I'm sorry if I didn't post this in the appropriate section.

Anyway, unfortunately, what motivates me to "activate" my writing skills, which are pretty good (oh, oh, I'm so humble, I know) is lack of finances. For those of you who have not read my introduction thread, I am Bo, I'm 18 and I am an international exchange student, currently located in Olympia, WA, USA. I am not allowed to have a regular job :( So I'd like to write.

My questions are:

1. How much can I earn by writing? I've seen bunch of people asking for writers and offering less than 0.01$ per word. I think my articles are worth more.

2. Where do I find people who are hiring writers?

3. Would $100 per week be a realistic figure for me?

Thank you very much for your replies.

-Bo

cress8

Registered
Reaction score
searching the world over for Calvin and Hobbes
Bo,

Others may disagree with me, but I think $100 per week is a huge overestimate for your earnings anytime soon. Besides, if you write for legitimate businesses, you are likely to run into the same employment restrictions you face with a "regular job" in the US. I think writing is a regular job just like any other, unless there's something I don't know about exchange student laws. I'm not sure if you'd face the same restrictions submitting work to publications in your country of origin while living here.

Regarding your other questions, there are plenty of "sticky" threads on this site with tons of info. I'm not trying to be discouraging, but if you don't yet know how to find people who hire writers, you still have a LOT to learn about the writing business before you'll be able to make money (and avoid scam artists who will promise you the moon, then run off with your work).