Career ending baseball injury

MsK

Registered
Reaction score
Looking for a shoulder type injury that would end a pro baseball players career, yet have him recover enough to be able to work as a high school baseball coach.
I'm undecided as to his position, but I am considering him a pitcher or a strong hitter and outfielder- I'm thinking pitcher might make the injury easier to work with. He can still be a great pitching coach. Do high schools have designated pitching coaches?

Last edited:

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Almost any tear of the anterior ligaments ends a pitching career, IIRC. (I'm not a doctor, nor a deeply devoted fan.) You can still throw, but not for power or distance.

My kids' high school, and my own, had one coach and one assistant coach for the major sports, no specialization except as their talents allowed. They didn't have a pitching coach.

A former big-league pitcher will certainly know more about pitching than a coach who played college ball, but high school athletes are often still working on speed or control, both pretty basic. His specialized knowledge may be beyond their abilities unless he's got an amazing kid clearly headed for the pros.

Maryn, Red Sox fan

Jersey Chick

Up all night to get Loki
Registered
Reaction score
in the state of carefully controlled chaos
Website
www.kimberlynee.com
A torn rotator cuff could do it - it can be surgically repaired, but the range of motion might never be the same - which can affect speed and control, depending on what type of pitcher your character is.

Another is an injury that requires what's known as Tommy John surgery. This is when there's an injury to the elbow ligament and it is surgically repaired by taking a tendon from somewhere else in the body and using that. Pitchers can come back from it, but there's always the chance that they'll never throw quite the same again.

IceCreamEmpress

Hapless Virago
Registered
Reaction score