PDA

View Full Version : A bit of inspiration for you (Twilight thoughts, moved from Novels to Roundtable)

Michael Parks
09-16-2008, 11:36 PM
Stephenie Meyer's 'Twilight' is currently #1 on the LA Times paperback list. Below is a short story on how the idea for the book came about, and how it made it to where it is today, including a movie being made.

I found it very inspiring, hope you do, too.

http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/twilight.html

Phaeal
09-17-2008, 12:32 AM
Heh, I tried reading Twilight at Borders this weekend, to see if I could feel the magic. Oops, I made it to Chapter 4, then fell asleep. My review of Ch. 1-4. Plodding and pedestrian.

I would have turned this puppy down if I were the agent or editor. I guess I'd be as impoverished an agent or editor as I am a writer. ;)

Shadow_Ferret
09-17-2008, 12:37 AM
I found it very inspiring, hope you do, too.

Inspiring? That's exactly how I've been working for years. I still haven't met with success.

MissingMyMuse
09-17-2008, 01:20 AM
I have read that article before!

I have to agree that I wasn't exactly inspired. I think my first thought was 'luck'.

I, too, tried to read Twilight. I couldn't do it! So...;)

tehuti88
09-17-2008, 01:45 AM
I merely scanned a few sentences of a scene somewhere in the middle of the book in Wal-Mart and shuddered before putting it back. The narrative voice of the main character just didn't appeal to me at all. Based on what I've read of the series plot at Wikipedia, I dislike it even more.

Then again, I'm heavily biased against vampire stories...although I'd heard such raves about the series, that was what made me pick it up in the first place despite knowing that it was about vampires! (I believe in giving things a chance...sometimes.)

I wouldn't say it sucks (sorry about the unintentional pun) as I haven't read it. So I really could not say, in all fairness. But it's not my cup of tea. It obviously inspires a lot of other people, though. I must admit I envy that.