PDA

View Full Version : What kind of typist are you?

JoeEkaitis
09-15-2008, 08:46 PM
Do they even TEACH touch typing in school anymore?

Ageless Stranger
09-15-2008, 08:51 PM
I can manage most of the keyboard without looking, but that was all self taught.

SPMiller
09-15-2008, 08:53 PM
Full touch-typist of the entire keyboard. Well over a decade of programming and computer gaming has trained me to pick out any key I like, whenever I like, while making few errata. Never received formal training, but my high school did offer a course.

A. Hamilton
09-15-2008, 08:56 PM
self taught, no real pattern to my tapping, test out only around 45-50 wpm.

vixey
09-15-2008, 08:57 PM
I think I'd be an extremely frustrated writer if I couldn't type. I actually consider (now that I spend so much time at my keyboard) the typing class I took in 10th grade to be one of the more valuable classes I took. And, no, I'm not all that ancient, BUT - the typewriters were manual!!

A. Hamilton
09-15-2008, 08:58 PM
..and in high schools now, the class is called Keyboarding Applications and includes basic word processing and some spreadsheet techniques. it's required freshman year here.

CaroGirl
09-15-2008, 09:01 PM
I'm a touch typist and I learned the skill in school. My kids are learning to type during their computer period in class and we have typing software on our home computer.

Who doesn't know how to type these days?

Bubastes
09-15-2008, 09:05 PM
I can touch-type everything except for a few seldom-used symbols. I'm self-taught and average about 50 wpm.

Beach Bunny
09-15-2008, 09:05 PM
I started out using two fingers. Now, after years (and years) of using a keyboard I have progressed to mostly touch typing. I still occasionally glance at the keyboard.

maestrowork
09-15-2008, 09:10 PM
I can't touch type except some numbers (especially 4 to 8) and symbols -- I can never remember which symbol is which key except ! @ # & ( ) / and ?

BenPanced
09-15-2008, 09:10 PM