What kind of typist are you?

• Total voters

SPMiller

Prodigiously Hanged
Registered
Reaction score
Website
seanpatrickmiller.com
Full touch-typist of the entire keyboard. Well over a decade of programming and computer gaming has trained me to pick out any key I like, whenever I like, while making few errata. Never received formal training, but my high school did offer a course.

A. Hamilton

here for a minute...catch me?
Kind Benefactor
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
self taught, no real pattern to my tapping, test out only around 45-50 wpm.

vixey

C'est la vie!
Registered
Reaction score
I think I'd be an extremely frustrated writer if I couldn't type. I actually consider (now that I spend so much time at my keyboard) the typing class I took in 10th grade to be one of the more valuable classes I took. And, no, I'm not all that ancient, BUT - the typewriters were manual!!

A. Hamilton

here for a minute...catch me?
Kind Benefactor
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
..and in high schools now, the class is called Keyboarding Applications and includes basic word processing and some spreadsheet techniques. it's required freshman year here.

CaroGirl

Living the dream
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a touch typist and I learned the skill in school. My kids are learning to type during their computer period in class and we have typing software on our home computer.

Who doesn't know how to type these days?

Bubastes

bananaed
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.gracewen.com
I can touch-type everything except for a few seldom-used symbols. I'm self-taught and average about 50 wpm.

Beach Bunny

The Provocative One
Registered
Reaction score
I started out using two fingers. Now, after years (and years) of using a keyboard I have progressed to mostly touch typing. I still occasionally glance at the keyboard.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com