Status
Not open for further replies.

mscelina

Teh doommobile, drivin' rite by you
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Going shopping with Soccer Mom and Bubastes for fu
So five minutes ago, I received my final rejection on Darkshifters.

101 queries, 23 partials, 9 fulls...and, in the end, 101 rejections. So many of the rejections were personalized, so many of them were 'we want to see more of your work' so many of them liked every single thing but one.

And every single one of them passed.

Even I find it hard to be optimistic at the moment. My tough skin feels a little shredded. Why shouldn't it? My baby--and the dreams I had for it--are dead. I'm not used to self-doubt.

I don't like it.

Rationally, I know I'm still learning my craft and also that I'm luckier than most--I have a relationship with a small press. Darkshifters will probably see the light of day as the result of one email and the absolute trust of my EIC. But with every rejection on those manuscript requests there was always a teensy ray of light and I knew--just felt--that someone would pick it up before I reached the end of my very long query list. I wanted the big time, damnit!

I missed.

So I'll add another little tombstone to my graveyard of SFF stories and wade into the backed up drafts on my hard drive to drag out another book. I'll torture it and myself for several months, agonizing over every little aspect, and start all over again. And maybe, just maybe--this time I'll light upon that magic next time and make the connection that just barely slipped through my fingers this one.

The funeral's tomorrow--a private affair with vodka and Red Bull and perhaps just a little bit of angst-flavored beer. I'll give myself a few days to grieve and then I'll start compiling a new query list for the next victim in line.

And life goes on. The moral of this story is, I hope--always have a plan B.

And C.

And D.

And vodka.

Man this hurts. The Doom Bunny is dead.

vixey

C'est la vie!