Newbie in the job market - help?

Thump

defying grabbity
Registered
Reaction score
Spending one short day in the Emerald City
Ok, this is kind of embarassing seeing as how I'm 23. I've never had a real job in the past and now that I'm on my own, I have to get something part-time. Ideally, it would be in a bookstore or library as I'm doing a degree in Publishing but anything that will keep me fed would be good.

Thing is, I don't really know how to write a CV. I've tried a couple of times in the past but never even got an interview so I'm guessing it's all in the CV. I mean, it's not like I'm not literate and numerate.

Would someone be willing to look at what I have so far and give me tips on how to get a decent enough CV that it will get someone's attention?
I'm despairing because there really isn't much to write in. I live in Oxford, btw, if that changes anything.

Thanks guys *shame*

Pagey's_Girl

Still plays with dolls
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I'll be happy to look it over for you. And don't be ashamed; putting together a decent CV is tough, especially when you're fist starting out.

Yeshanu

Elf Queen
Registered
Reaction score
I'll take a look at it too, Thump, if you'd like.

JimmyB27

Hoopy frood
Registered
Reaction score
In the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable e
Website
destinydeceived.wordpress.com
Ok, this is kind of embarassing seeing as how I'm 23. I've never had a real job in the past and now that I'm on my own, I have to get something part-time. Ideally, it would be in a bookstore or library as I'm doing a degree in Publishing but anything that will keep me fed would be good.

Thing is, I don't really know how to write a CV. I've tried a couple of times in the past but never even got an interview so I'm guessing it's all in the CV. I mean, it's not like I'm not literate and numerate.