PDA

View Full Version : Did you ever decide not to read a book because...

Susan Breen
09-06-2008, 11:14 PM
Of the author photo? I just picked up a book and the cover looked interesting and the first page was interesting and then I looked at the photo and he looked so damn supercilious that I thought, Forget it. And I put the book back. I've never done that before.

Williebee
09-06-2008, 11:24 PM
Well crap. I don't think so. But, now that you've brought it up, I don't know. Man, I hope not.

Cranky
09-06-2008, 11:29 PM
No, I don't think I've ever done that.

And now I'm scared. I always look grumpy (Cranky, anyone? LOL) in photos. :eek:

Deccydiva
09-06-2008, 11:35 PM
Not to date, but if someone really looked supercilious I might think twice!

stormie
09-06-2008, 11:37 PM
I always look grumpy (Cranky, anyone? LOL) in photos. :eek:
And I can look stormy. (You should see the photos of me as a kid. Move away from me fast!)

You know, Susan, I did see an author's photo where his arms are crossed and he's leaning against something and he has a smirk on his face. I did read the book, but refused to even glance at the back photo.

If I had seen the photo first--nah, I'd probably still read it, but yes, it does color my feelings toward the writer.

Woodsie
09-06-2008, 11:42 PM
I haven't, but I probably would. I can't stand the way a certain popular, non-fiction author looks on his books. I've never read one and I never will. I also happen to know what his books are about so I know I'm not missing anything.

Susan Breen
09-06-2008, 11:43 PM
Now I feel sort of shallow. (And I do pick up books by authors who look shallow!). It was just a visceral response I had to this guy's photo, but I guess it bothered me, which I why I posted here. Now that I think about it, I've read plenty of books by supercilious authors.

stormie
09-06-2008, 11:46 PM