What's In Your Online Writer's Toolbox?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hitchcockfan

Registered
Reaction score
Hello,

I’m an aspiring fiction writer and I’m trying to determine what to include in my online writer’s toolbox. My writing interests include mystery, horror and YA fantasy. With that, I’d like to hear your thoughts on the following two questions:

1. Which online, fiction-writing resources provide you with the most value and information for aspiring and published writers? These could be general or genre-specific sites that provide writing-related articles, online critiques, upcoming contests or just a great place for writers to congregate.

2. Do you find it best to belong to a few sites or several to converse and get information?

Thank you all very much for your input. It’s greatly appreciated!

John

kct webber

Squirrel, Sekrit type, 1 ea.
Registered
Reaction score
Agreed. This site is the best resource I've ever seen. Besides, there are links here to every other resource.

JimmyB27

Hoopy frood
Registered
Reaction score
In the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable e
Website
destinydeceived.wordpress.com
Okay, I'm going to give you a real answer, instead of just sucking up to AW. ;)

I also, on occasion, use Forward Motion at www.fmwriters.com. There's forums over there too, not as extensive as the ones here, and focusing on fiction. The forums here are better, but I like the chat room there, and have a good few friends there. They also have a newsletter for writers called Vision - http://lazette.net/vision/ - which is very good.
There's also a lot of good stuff at http://www.hollylisle.com/fm/. Holly is the founder of Forward Motion, and she has a lot of free stuff, including her eBook on writing, Mugging The Muse.

NeuroFizz

The grad students did it
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score