Abortion chapter

Ms Hollands

Cow lover
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.lefrancophoney.com
I have a chapter in my novel where a character goes through an abortion. This is something I have no experience in, and I wrote it only after doing a lot of research into the medical side and the emotional side both before and after.

I understand it's a very sensitive (and contentious) subject, and I've tried to write the chapter accordingly. If anyone who has experienced the pill-taking abortion method is willing to read my chapter for accuracy, I would be really grateful.

IceCreamEmpress

Hapless Virago
Registered
Reaction score
Perks, you're confusing two different medications that work in different ways. The "morning after pill" is a contraceptive, which makes the woman's system inimical to fertilization and implantation. RU-486 is a chemical abortifacient, which terminates an already-fertilized and implanted conception.

Perks

delicate #!&@*#! flower
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jamie-mason.com
Well, there you go. Learn something everyday, don't I? I did think they were the same. Will delete my post!

Perks

delicate #!&@*#! flower
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jamie-mason.com
Well, if she's gone through a chemical abortion more than a couple of days beyond the encounter, what she's thinking would probably be substantially different. But thanks!

I looked it up and saw that they used to call RU-486 'The Morning After' even though it was was a three dose deal and you could use it up to six weeks later. Big difference from what I was talking about.

Now I guess I understand what all the controversy was about. Emergency Contraception (what we call 'The Morning After' pill now) is quite a different proposition from an early stage abortion, in many minds.

At least now I know what all the fuss is about. I didn't before. Thank you IceCreamEmpress!

citymouse

fantasy dweller
Registered
Reaction score