updates from the playwrights

endless rewrite

Registered
Reaction score
Mandy-Jane said it so well:

I think an update thread is a great idea. We could have monthly, weekly or whenever the mood strikes you check-ins. It will be great to see what everyone is up to, and a great motivator for us all.

In the last week I think I have nailed the first act of my new play which isn't that new as I have been working on and off on a first draft for about 6 months.

As I have all of this week dedicated to writing I am hoping to knock the second act into shape in the next few days. By the time the National drag me kicking and screaming out of the building in three weeks time I am hoping to have a draft that is OK to send out. Then I will workshop it and probably start again.

Alyss

Registered
Reaction score
Well, I've got 4 plays I'm working on at the moment.

The first is a long-running project that is basically the roleplaying of a D&D forum I frequent, and concerns of the rape and recovery of a young woman out to avenge her parents' death.

The second is a dark fairytale about a girl who commits suicide, only to return to life when the mortician defiles her corpse...I've been playing around with structure with this one, the play will have 52 scenes each keyed to a playing card, and thus the running order can be determined by playing a game of Solitaire.

The third is inspired by a video game called Project Zero: Crimson Butterfly, and about unpleasant rituals in a Japanese village and the havock it wreaks on two sets of twins.

And the fourth is a new project about an arranged gay marriage, which is why I joined this forum in the first place!

Mandy-Jane

venturing ever further into the unknown
Registered
Reaction score
I will complete a play this year! I will!
Strictly speaking, this is not really an update because I haven't done anything! But I thought I'd drop in and say hello and find some motivation to get back into it again.